Mark message as read without being ‘seen’ on Facebook

So someone sends you a message on Facebook and you don’t want them to know its been ‘seen’, however you still have to deal with the annoying notification. So how do you get rid of the notification without informing the sender you have read the message?

Its pretty simple and quick. Just make sure you browse to your Facebook messages from the left-hand sidebar. You will then be presented with your list of messages. DO NOT click but hover over the unread message and a small dot and cross will appear. Click the dot to mark the message as read, or click the X to delete it.

This will clear the notification but the sender won’t be notified that the message was read.

Its a simple solution but does come in handy from time to time!